Tuesday, August 04, 2009

Shaping the Ravens' Roster

It’s very early in camp and clearly many battles have yet to be won and lost. But as of now here’s how I see the Ravens’ roster shaping up with 41 locks to make the squad as of now and the rest competing for those remaining 12 spots. Note the talent listed among those that are not locks. There will be some very difficult cuts this season for the organization:


Quarterbacks: Joe Flacco; Troy Smith; John Beck (3)
Running Backs: Ray Rice; Willis McGahee; Le’Ron McClain (3)
Wide Receiver: Derrick Mason; Mark Clayton; Demetrius Williams; Kelley Washington (4)
Tight Ends: Todd Heap; LJ Smith; Edgar Jones; Davon Drew (4)
Offensive Line: Jared Gaither; Ben Grubbs; Matt Birk; Marshal Yanda; Michael Oher; Chris Chester; O'niel Cousins (7)


Defensive Line: Trevor Pryce; Haloti Ngata; Justin Bannan; Kelly Gregg (4)
Linebackers: Ray Lewis; Terrell Suggs; Tavares Gooden; Jarret Johnson; Jameel McClain; Paul Kruger (6)
Secondary: Ed Reed; Domonique Foxworth; Fabian Washington; Dawan Landry; Haruki Nakamura; Lardarius Webb; Chris Carr; Tom Zbikowski (8)
Specialists: Sam Koch; Matt Katula (2)


RB: Jalen Parmele; Cedric Peerman; Jason Cook (3)
WR: Marcus Smith; Justin Harper (2)
OL: Robby Felix; David Hale; Joe Reitz (3)
DL: Brandon McKinney; Dwan Edwards; Lamar Divens (3)
LB: Dannell Ellerbe; Antwan Barnes; Brendon Ayanbadejo; Prescott Burgess; Jason Phillips; William VanDeSteeg (6)
DB: Evan Oglesby; Derrick Martin; KJ Gerard; Frank Walker; Samari Rolle (5)
Specialists: Steve Hauschka; Graham Gano; Yamon Figurs (3)

ROSTER THOUGHTS: With Adam Terry on the shelf for the year it could be that a fourth tackle on the 53 man roster could come from another team’s list of roster casualties…Note that the number of locks (41) does not include a kicker at this time...I'll revisit this after the first preseason game v. Washington


Scott said...

Just leaving my guess (and hopes) for the remaining 12.

Cedric Peerman, Marcus Smith, Justin Harper, David Hale, Brandon McKinney, Dwan Edwards, Antwan Barnes, Brendan Ayanbadejo, Jason Phillips, KJ Gerard (although it will unfortunately be Frank Walker), Samari Rolle, Grahm Gano